Meggie Kay

The Life of a 20-Something

New Year’s Resolutions 2014

I’ve never been a big fan of New Year’s Resolutions. I mean, if I’m really motivated to becoming a better person, why wait for the new calendar year? New Year’s Resolutions are notorious for failing. People forget what they set out to do and slip into old habits. The hard-and-fast “Lose 30 Pounds” goal resolutions are ridiculous and setting yourself up for failure. There needs to be some space for any new year’s resolutions you want to make. They need to be possible and not put you so far out of your way that you give up and fall into the “slip into old habits” category. If I make New Year’s resolutions, I want to know I can actually achieve them. So, I’ve come up with a few New Year’s resolutions that will better my life even if I only follow them sometimes.

1- Approach Life with an Open Heart

Despite spilling my guts in blogs on a regular basis, I’m a fairly guarded person. It’s a habit that I developed as a young kid. Over the last few years, I’ve been trying to break down my own walls. Especially recently, I’ve noticed whenever I let my guard down, good things happen. I want to start approaching life with that open heart and stop being suspicious of everything all the time.

2- Actually Finish Something

I’m great at starting projects only to leave them half finished the collect dust and die. I’m a very excitable person. I get really excited and pumped up about something and then lose interest after a couple weeks. I want to finish reading all those books that I stopped half way through because I started a new one. I want to finish one the those paintings I’ve been planning on for years. I just want to actually finish something.

3- Do Things that are Right for Me

This is another childhood habit. I do things that are expected of me instead of what I actually want. I put myself out so other people are more comfortable. These sort of things don’t help me. They don’t better my life. They don’t get me to where I want to be. It’s time to start making myself happy and doing what’s right for me. I mean, if I can’t be a little self-centered at 23, when will I ever focus on myself?

Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions? Let me know in the comments.

Oh… and Happy New Year!

Also check out my 2014 Travel Plans post on my travel blog. I wouldn’t really call them resolutions but close enough.

FUN FACT: As a kid, I thought “New Year’s Resolutions” was actually “New Year’s Revolutions”… I think I might that better. Ha!

One comment on “New Year’s Resolutions 2014

  1. Pingback: 2014 Travel Plans | Nomadic Meg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2014 by in Goals, Holidays, Life and tagged , , , , , , , .
